CALL NOW! (855) 375-4689

Should I sign in to Chrome?

Published by Craig Petronella on

GoogleApps_May07_AThe Internet browser is arguably one of the most important computer programs. For some companies, especially those operating in the cloud, it’s become the main way work is done. One of the most popular browsers is Google’s Chrome. When installing Chrome for the first time, you may have noticed that it asked you to ‘sign in to Chrome’. This has led to more than a few questions being asked about what exactly this means.

Below is an overview of the sign in to Chrome feature.

What exactly is it?
Google assumes that the majority of users who download Chrome have a Google account. What Sign in to Chrome does is link to your Google account. When you link your copy of Chrome to your Google account, all bookmarks, apps, tabs and browser preferences will sync with your account.

You can then link other copies of Chrome to your account and all of this information and your saved preferences will be automatically available. Basically it’s like having the exact same copy of Chrome with you, wherever you go. For example, you can have all of your bookmarks from your work computer available to you on your Android device, or at home.

Another benefit of signing into Chrome is that it makes it easier to use all of Google’s apps. For the most part, you will only have to sign in once and all of your Google’s apps are there, ready to be used.

This is a great feature if you have multiple devices and want to have access to the same information, bookmarks and preferences. The downside is that it can be a security issue, especially if you sign in to Chrome on a public computer. If you forget to logout, other users will have access to your browser and potentially, to your Google accounts.

How to sign in to Chrome

  1. Open Chrome and click on the three vertical lines in the top-right of the browser.
  2. Select Sign in to Chrome.
  3. Enter your Google account information (username and password).
  4. Confirm what you want to sync by ticking or unticking the relevant boxes.
  5. Click Ok.

For businesses we recommend that you sync only your bookmarks, apps and open tabs. For security reasons, it would be a good idea to not sync passwords or auto-fill.

If you would like to learn more about Chrome or any of Google’s other apps, please contact us to schedule a chat.

Published with permission from TechAdvisory.org. Source.

Published with permission from Technology Times. Source.Source.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!